Hong Kong Baptist University

© Base64
Year of foundation: 1956
Approx. number of students: 8,800
Period of study: Early September - Late December; Mid January-End May
MCI partner since: 2011

The City

Hong Kong was a British Crown colony which became a Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China in 1997. Consisting of a peninsula and 236 islands on China's south coast and enclosed by the Pearl River Delta and South China Sea, Hong Kong has developed into one of the world's top financial centers. It has a highly developed capitalist economy, and has a "high degree of autonomy" in all areas except foreign affairs and defence. Renowned for its expansive skyline and deep natural harbor, its identity as a cosmopolitan center where east meets west is reflected in its cuisine, cinema, music and traditions. Hong Kong has approx. 7 million inhabitants.

The University

Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) is a publicly-funded tertiary institution with a Christian education heritage. It is the sole surviving institution of 13 major Christian universities that once operated on the China mainland. Founded in 1956 by the Baptist Convention of Hong Kong, HKBU is the second-oldest institution of higher learning in Hong Kong. It was established as Hong Kong Baptist College with the support of American Baptists, who provided both operating and construction funds and personnel to the school in its early years.

HKBU has four main campuses: Ho Sin Hang Campus (1966), Shaw Campus (1995), Baptist University Road Campus (1998) and the "Kai Tak Campus" (2005), as well as the Shek Mun Campus (2006) for the College of International Education and the Hong Kong Baptist University Affiliated School Wong Kam Fai Secondary and Primary School. The first three campuses are located in the urban heart of Kowloon Tong, while the "Kai Tak Campus" is on Kwun Tong Road and the Shek Mun Campus in Shatin.

Hong Kong Baptist University is ranked 111th in the world and 13th in Asia by the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2010.