Sun Yat-Sen University

© jo.sau
Year of foundation: 1924
Approx. number of students: 35,000
Period of study: Early September-Mid January; End February - Mid July
MCI partner since: 2008

The City

Guangzhou (often referred to in English as Canton) is located in the southern part of the People's Republic of China. It is a port on the Pearl River, navigable to the South China Sea, and is located about 120 km northwest of Hong Kong. The city has a population of 6 million, making it the third most populous city in mainland China.

Guangzhou is the main manufacturing hub of the Pearl River Delta.

The University

The university is named after Dr. Sun Yat-Sen, a physician and later president of the Republic of China. The university consists of 4 campuses (South Campus, North Campus, East Campus and Zhuhai Campus) with a total area of 6.17 square kilometers. Three of the four campuses are located in Guangzhou, the fourth is in Zhuhai.

According to the 2009 Chinese University Ranking published by The 21st Century Business Herald, Sun Yat-sen University was ranked in 8th place.