Krakow University of Economics

Year of foundation: 1925
Approx. number of students: 20,000
Period of study: End September-Mid February; Mid Februay-End June
MCI partner since: 2004

The City

Cracow is one of the largest and oldest cities in Poland and a popular tourist destination. Situated on the Vistula river in the Lesser Poland region, the city dates back to the 7th century. Kraków has traditionally been one of the leading centres of Polish academic, cultural and artistic life, and is one of Poland's most important economic centers. In 1978, the same year UNESCO placed Kraków on the list of World Heritage Sites, Karol Wojtyła, archbishop of Kraków, was elevated to the papacy as John Paul II, the first non-Italian pope in 455 years, and the first ever Slavic pope. Cracow has approx. 750,000 inhabitants.

The University

Krakow University of Economics is one of the five Polish public economics universities. It is the biggest university of economic sciences in Poland and one of the three largest universities in Krakow - after Jagiellonian University and the University of Science and Technology AGH. Its 17 acre campus is located in the vicinity of historical medieval Old Town of Krakow, and easily accessible both on foot or by public transportation. In addition to the main campus in Kraków, the University also has seven Remote Teaching Centers in different cities of the region.