Charles Darwin University

Year of foundation: 2004
Approx. number of students: 22,000
Period of study: End July-Early November; Early March-Mid June
MCI partner since: 2013

The City

Darwin is the capital city of the Northern Territory in Australia and is also the largest city in the sparsely populated state with approx. 140,000 inhabitants. It is the smallest and most northerly of the Australian capital cities, and acts as the Top End's regional centre. Darwin was originally a pioneer outpost. Darwin's proximity to South East Asia makes it an important Australian gateway to countries such as Indonesia and East Timor.

The University

Charles Darwin University (CDU) is an Australian public university with about 22,083 students as of 2011.

The University offers a wide range of Higher Education degrees and Vocational Education and Training courses with flexible study options, including part-time, external and online.

CDU has campuses in the Darwin suburb of Casuarina, the city of Palmerston, and the towns of Alice Springs, Katherine and Nhulunbuy, with smaller training centres in Jabiru, Tennant Creek and Yulara.

Charles Darwin University was created on 1 January 2004 from the amalgamation of Northern Territory University (NTU) of Darwin and Centralian College of Alice Springs. The University is named after Charles Darwin, the celebrated English naturalist.