Cardiff University

Year of foundation: 1883
Approx. number of students: 33,200
MCI partner since: 2021

The City

Cardiff is the capital city of Wales and the UK's eleventh-largest city. Cardiff is the seat of the Welsh Parliament, most national cultural institutions and the Welsh media. It is the most popular tourist destination in Wales with 21.3 million visitors in 2017 counting many landmark buildings such as the Principality Stadium and the Senedd building, the home of the Welsh Parliament. Cardiff is also famous for Cardiff Castle, St David's Hall, Llandaff Cathedral and the Wales Millennium Centre.

The University

Cardiff University is a public research university in Wales. Founded in 1883 as the University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire it adopted the name Cardiff University after several mergers and transformations in 1999. In 2005 this became its legal name, when it became an independent university and began awarding its own degrees.
Cardiff University is the third oldest university in Wales and counts among the ten largest UK universities. It contains three colleges: "Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences", "Biomedical and Life Sciences" and "Physical Sciences and Engineering".