Jagiellonian University

Year of foundation: 1364
Approx. number of students: 52,400
Period of study: Early October-End February; End February-End June
MCI partner since: 2005

The City

Cracow is one of the largest and oldest cities in Poland and a popular tourist destination. Situated on the Vistula river in the Lesser Poland region, the city dates back to the 7th century. Kraków has traditionally been one of the leading centres of Polish academic, cultural and artistic life, and is one of Poland's most important economic centres. In 1978, the same year UNESCO placed Kraków on the list of World Heritage Sites, Karol Wojtyła, archbishop of Kraków, was elevated to the papacy as John Paul II, the first non-Italian pope in 455 years, and the first ever Slavic pope. Cracow has approx. 750,000 inhabitants.

The University

The Jagiellonian University was established in 1364 by Casimir III the Great in Kraków. It is the oldest institution of higher education in Poland, the second oldest university in Eastern Europe and one of the oldest universities in Europe.

In 1817 it was renamed Jagiellonian University to commemorate Poland's Jagiellonian dynasty, which had revived the Kraków Academy after it had fallen upon hard times. In 2006 The Times Higher Education Supplement ranked Jagiellonian University as the top Polish university.