Technological University of Shannon

Year of foundation: 2021
Approx. number of students: approx. 6,900
MCI partner since: 2019 (Limerick Institute of Technology)

The City

Limerick is an Irish city located at the head of the Shannon Estuary where the river widens before it flows into the Atlantic Ocean. The historic core of the city is located on King's Island, which is bounded by the Shannon and the Abbey River. With its population of approx. 94,000 inhabitants Limerick is the fourth most populous city on the island of Ireland.
Limerick City is a main tourist destination with attractions of architectural and historical note in the city centre such as the Limerick City Museum, the King John's Castle, the St Mary's Cathedral and Georgian houses and gardens.

The University

The Technological University of the Shannon (TUS) is a public technological university. The third one to be established in Ireland, it began operations in October 2021. The university was the result of a merger between the Athlone Institute of Technology and the Limerick Institute of Technology already being one of MCI's prestigious partner universities. TUS currently has six campuses situated in four counties and three provinces within Ireland. They are located in Limerick, Athlone, Thurles, Clonmel, and Ennis.